2011 Oscar Winners

The biggest night in Hollywood happened last night, with the 83rd Annual Academy Awards. For the most part, the winners came as no surprise. The front-runners were the favorites for a reason, and they cleaned up!

The King’s Speech and Inception tied for four Oscars apiece, and the rest of the hardware was spread around fairly evenly.

Here’s the full list of winners, along with the list of nominees:

Best Picture

Winner: The King’s Speech
Nominee’s: 127 Hours, Black Swan, The Fighter, Inception, The Kids Are All Right, The Social Network, Toy Story 3, True Grit, Winter’s Bone.

Best Actor in Leading Role

Winner: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
Nominees: Javier Bardem (Biutiful), Jeff Bridges (True Grit), Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network), James Franco (127 Hours)

Best Actress in Leading Role

Winner: Natalie Portman – Black Swan
Nominees: Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right), Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole), Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone), Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine)

Best Actor in Supporting Role

Winner: Christian Bale – The Fighter
Nominees: John Hawkes (Winter’s Bone), Jeremy Renner (The Town), Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are All Right), Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech)

Best Actress in Supporting Role

Winner: Melissa Leo – The Fighter
Nominees: Amy Adams (The Fighter), Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech), Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit), Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

Best Director

Winner: Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech
Nominees: Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan), Ethan/Joel Coen (True Grit), David Fincher (The Social Network), David O. Russell (The Fighter)

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: The King’s Speech – David Seidler
Nominees: Another Year (Mike Leigh), The Fighter (Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson, Keith Dorrington), Inception (Christopher Nolan), The Kids Are All Right (Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: The Social Network – Aaron Sorkin
Nominees: 127 Hours (Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy), Toy Story 3 (Michael Arndt, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, Lee Unkrich), True Grit (Joel Coen, Ethan Coen), Winter’s Bone (Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini)

Best Animated Film

Winner: Toy Story 3
Nominees: How To Train Your Dragon, The Illusionist

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: In A Better World
Nominees: Biutiful, Dogtooth, Incendies, Outside the Law

Best Cinematography

Winner: Inception – Wally Pfister
Nominees: Black Swan (Matthew Libatique), The King’s Speech (Danny Cohen), The Social Network (Jeff Cronenweth), True Grit (Roger Deakins)

Best Editing

Winner: The Social Network – Kirk Baxter, Angus Wall
Nominees: 127 Hours (Jon Harris), Black Swan (Andrew Weisblum), The Fighter (Pamela Martin), The King’s Speech (Tariq Anwar)

Best Art Direction

Winner: Alice in Wonderland – Robert Stromberg, Karen O’Hara
Nominees: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I (Stuart Craig, Stephenie McMillan), Inception (Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias, Douglas A. Mowat), The King’s Speech (Eve Stewart, Judy Farr), True Grit (Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh)

Best Costume Design

Winner: Alice in Wonderland – Colleen Atwood
Nominees: I Am Love (Antonella Cannarozzi), The King’s Speech (Jenny Beavan), The Tempest (Sandy Powell), True Grit (Mary Zophres)

Best Makeup

Winner: The Wolfman – Rick Baker, Dave Elsey
Nominees: Barney’s Version (Adrien Morot), The Way Back (Edouard F. Henriques, Greg Funk, Yolanda Toussieng)

Best Original Score

Winner: The Social Network – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Nominees: 127 Hours (A.R. Rahman), How To Train Your Dragon (John Powell), Inception (Hans Zimmer), The King’s Speech (Alexandre Desplat)

Best Original Song

Winner: Toy Story 3 – Randy Newman “We Belong Together”
Nominees: 127 Hours (A.R. Rahman, , Dido “If I Rise”), Country Strong (Tom Douglas, Hillary Lindsey, Troy Verges “Coming Home”), Tangled (Alan Menken, Glenn Slater “I See the Light”)

Best Sound Mixing

Winner: Inception – Lora Hirschberg, Gary Rizzo, Ed Novick
Nominees: The King’s Speech (Paul Hamblin, Martin Jensen, John Midgley), Salt (Jeffrey J. Haboush, William Sarokin, Scott Millan, Greg P. Russellf), The Social Network (Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Mark Weingarten), True Grit (Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland)

Best Sound Editing

Winner: Inception – Richard King
Nominees: Toy Story 3 (Tom Myers, Michael Silvers), TRON: Legacy (Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, Addison Teague), True Grit (Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey), Unstoppable (Mark P. Stoeckinger)

Best Visual Effects

Winner: Inception (Chris Corbould, Andrew Lockley, Pete Bebb, Paul J. Franklin)
Nominees: Alice in Wonderland (Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas, Sean Phillips), Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I (Tim Burke, John Richardson, Christian Manz, Nicolas Aithadi), Hereafter (Michael Owens, Bryan Grill, Stephan Trojansky, Joe Farrell), Iron Man 2 (Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright, Daniel Sudick)

Best Feature Documentary

Winner: Inside Job
Nominees: Exit Through the Gift Shop, GasLand, Restrepo, Wasteland

Best Short Subjects Documentary

Winner: Strangers No More
Nominees: Killing in the Name, Poster Girl, Sun Come Up, The Warriors of the Quigang

Best Animated Short Film

Winner: The Lost Thing
Nominees: Day & Night, The Gruffalo, Let’s Pollute, Madagascar A Journey Diary

Best Live Action Short Film

Winner: God of Love
Nominees: The Confession, The Crush, Na Wewe, Wish 143

Be Sociable, Share!